CHF Awards $17,000 in Health Professional Scholarships


Chuckanut Health Foundation (CHF) awarded ten scholarships totaling $17,000 this year.

Two of the students receiving CHF scholarships are returning applicants, while three others are new awardees. Scholarships may be renewed up to three years and each is $1,500. The scholarships are awarded annually through CHF’s Lois Jean Roberts Memorial Nursing Scholarship program.

The program is named after the wife of James Roberts, former executive director of St. Luke’s Foundation (now Chuckanut Health Foundation). Students are selected on criteria that aligns with the goal of promoting and expanding opportunities for qualified students to attend and complete their nursing education, whether an RN or BSN degree.

In addition to direct scholarship awards to students, CHF has committed $1,500 to support health professionals at local colleges with five standing scholarships:  two at Bellingham Technical College (BTC), one at Western Washington University (WWU), and two at Whatcom Community College (WCC). CHF’s $3,000 grant to BTC funds the CHF McEvoy Family Radiology Technology Scholarship as well as a Lois Roberts Nursing Scholarship.

This year’s scholarship recipients include:

  • Renee Aumell, Bellingham Technical College

  • Rhiana Breedlove, Skagit Valley College

  • Joshua Wiederhold, Whatcom Community College

  • Ariel Miller, Bellingham Technical College

  • Anna Hope St. John, Western Washington University

For over 35 years, CHF has supported future health professionals by awarding 176 scholarships totaling $419,500

Heather Flaherty